new moon closeup

When Is The Next New Moon? Dates & Times For The Next 12

Last Updated: June 14, 2024

Whether you’re an avid moon gazer, a lunar lover, or simply someone planning a special evening under the moonlight, my calendar will guide you through the dates and times of each full moon in 2024.

Table of Contents

The Harvest New Moon will take place on Thursday, September 14, 2023

On that day, the new moon phase will start at 9:40 PM EDT / 8:40 PM CDT / 6:40 PM PDT /  1:40 AM UTC (on the 15th).

At this point in its lunar cycle, the moon will be 00.22 days old and will appear 0.43% illuminated. Its tilt will be -3.84° and its distance from Earth will be about 405,207.34 km. Astrologically, the moon will be in the sign of Virgo.

Additional Info

  • Right Ascension / Declination: 11h33m50s / 5°55’N
  • Apparent Magnitude: -4.17
  • Apparent diameter: 29 arcminutes and 32 arcseconds.

September New Moon Countdown

00
Days
00
Hours
00
Min
00
Secs
The September New Moon 2023 is Now Over.

The Hunter New Moon will take place on Saturday, October 14, 2023

On that day, the new moon phase will start at 5:55 PM UTC / 1:55 PM EDT / 12:55 PM CDT / 10:55 AM PDT.

At this point in its lunar cycle, the moon will be 0.39 days old and will appear 0.05% illuminated. Its tilt will be 24.648° and its distance from Earth will be about 397,826.06 km. Astrologically, the moon will be in the sign of Libra.

Additional Info

  • Right Ascension / Declination: 13h17m20s / 7°48’S
  • Apparent Magnitude: -2.99
  • Apparent diameter: 30 arcminutes and 04 arcseconds.

October New Moon Countdown

00
Days
00
Hours
00
Min
00
Secs
The October New Moon 2023 is Now Over.
new moon

The Beaver New Moon will occur on Monday, November 13, 2023

On that day, the new moon phase will start at 9:27 AM UTC / 4:27 AM EST / 3:27 AM CST / 1:27 AM PST.

At this point in its lunar cycle, the moon will be 0.08 days old and will appear 0% illuminated. Its tilt will be -118.205° and its distance from Earth will be about 386,678.62 km. Astrologically, the moon will be in the sign of Scorpio.

Additional Info

  • Right Ascension / Declination: 15h09m10s / 20°03’S
  • Apparent Magnitude: -4.56
  • Apparent diameter: 30 arcminutes and 53 arcseconds.

November New Moon Countdown

00
Days
00
Hours
00
Min
00
Secs
The November New Moon 2023 is Now Over.

The Cold New Moon will happen on Tuesday, December 12, 2023

On that day, the new moon phase will start at 11:32 PM UTC / 6:32 PM EST / 5:32 PM CST / 3:32 PM PST.

At this point in its lunar cycle, the moon will be 0.61 days old and will appear 0.43% illuminated. Its tilt will be -71.025° and its distance from Earth will be about 377,682.81 km. Astrologically, the moon will be in the sign of Sagittarius.

Additional Info

  • Right Ascension / Declination: 17h16m30s / 27°20’S
  • Apparent Magnitude: -5.87
  • Apparent diameter: 31 arcminutes and 50 arcseconds.

December New Moon Countdown

00
Days
00
Hours
00
Min
00
Secs
The December New Moon 2023 is Now Over.

The Wolf New Moon will make an appearance in the sky on Thursday, January 11, 2024

On that day, the new moon phase will start at 11:57 AM UTC / 6:57 AM EST / 5:57 AM CST / 3:57 AM PST.

At this point in its lunar cycle, the moon will be 0.08 days old and will appear 0% illuminated. Its tilt will be 249.112° and its distance from Earth will be about 365,181.11 km. Astrologically, the moon will be in the sign of Capricorn.

Additional Info

  • Right Ascension / Declination: 19h31m30s / 26°49’S
  • Apparent Magnitude: -6.34
  • Apparent diameter: 32 arcminutes and 42 arcseconds.

January New Moon Countdown

00
Days
00
Hours
00
Min
00
Secs
The January New Moon 2024 is Now Over.
new moon

The New Snow Moon will be visible on Friday, February 9, 2024

On that day, the new moon phase will start at 10:59 PM UTC / 5:59 PM EST / 4:59 PM CST / 2:59 PM PST.

At this point in its lunar cycle, the moon will be 0.35 days old and will appear 0.31% illuminated. Its tilt will be -62.723° and its distance from Earth will be about 359,681.44 km. Astrologically, the moon will be in the sign of Aquarius.

Additional Info

  • Right Ascension / Declination: 21h36m40s / 18°43’S
  • Apparent Magnitude: -5.88
  • Apparent diameter: 33 arcminutes and 17 arcseconds.

February New Moon Countdown

00
Days
00
Hours
00
Min
00
Secs
The February New Moon 2024 is Now Over.

The Worm New Moon will shine brightly on Sunday, March 10, 2024

On that day, the new moon phase will start at 9:00 AM UTC / 4:00 AM EST / 3:00 AM CST / 1:00 AM PST.

At this point in its lunar cycle, the moon will be 0.16 days old and will appear 0% illuminated. Its tilt will be 188.451° and its distance from Earth will be about 356,920.08 km. Astrologically, the moon will be in the sign of Pisces.

Additional Info

  • Right Ascension / Declination: 01h09m50s / 7°47’N
  • Apparent Magnitude: -6.22
  • Apparent diameter: 33 arcminutes and 11 arcseconds.

March New Moon Countdown

00
Days
00
Hours
00
Min
00
Secs
The March New Moon 2024 is Now Over.

The Pink New Moon will be at its peak on Monday, April 8, 2024

On that day, the new moon phase will start at 7:21 PM UTC / 3:21 PM EDT / 2:21 PM CDT / 12:21 PM PDT.

At this point in its lunar cycle, the moon will be 0.11 days old and will appear 0.11% illuminated. Its tilt will be -38.017° and its distance from Earth will be about 359,388.98 km. Astrologically, the moon will be in the sign of Aries.

Additional Info

  • Right Ascension / Declination: 02h57m30s / 19°48’N
  • Apparent Magnitude: -4.32
  • Apparent diameter: 32 arcminutes and 33 arcseconds.

April New Moon Countdown

00
Days
00
Hours
00
Min
00
Secs
The April New Moon 2024 is Now Over.

The Flower New Moon will make an appearance on Tuesday, May 7, 2024

On that day, the new moon phase will start at 11:22 PM CDT / 9:22 PM PDT, or 4:22 AM UTC / 12:22 AM EDT on the 8th.

At this point in its lunar cycle, the moon will be 00.06 days old and will appear 0.9% illuminated. Its tilt will be -59.738° and its distance from Earth will be about 364,670.17 km. Astrologically, the moon will be in the sign of Taurus.

Additional Info

  • Right Ascension / Declination: 22h48m20s / 10°42’S
  • Apparent Magnitude: -5.67
  • Apparent diameter: 32 arcminutes and 14 arcseconds.

May New Moon Countdown

00
Days
00
Hours
00
Min
00
Secs
The May New Moon 2024 is Now Over.
new moon

The Strawberry New Moon will occur on Thursday, June 6, 2024

On that day, the new moon phase will start at 1:38 PM UTC / 9:38 AM EDT / 8:38 AM CDT / 6:38 AM PDT.

At this point in its lunar cycle, the moon will be 0.07 days old and will appear 0% illuminated. Its tilt will be 56.07° and its distance from Earth will be about 376,267.53 km. Astrologically, the moon will be in the sign of Gemini.

Additional Info

  • Right Ascension / Declination: 04h56m50s / 27°10’N
  • Apparent Magnitude: -4.99
  • Apparent diameter: 31 arcminutes and 43 arcseconds.

June New Moon Countdown

00
Days
00
Hours
00
Min
00
Secs
The June New Moon 2024 is Now Over.

The Buck New Moon will show up on Friday, July 5, 2024

On that day, the new moon phase will start at 11:57 PM UTC / 7:57 PM EDT / 6:57 PM CDT / 4:57 PM PDT.

At this point in its lunar cycle, the moon will be 0.57 days old and will appear 0.46% illuminated. Its tilt will be -15.413° and its distance from Earth will be about 384,793.90 km. Astrologically, the moon will be in the sign of Cancer.

Additional Info

  • Right Ascension / Declination: 09h03m40s / 21°09’N
  • Apparent Magnitude: -4.75
  • Apparent diameter: 30 arcminutes and 05 arcseconds.

July New Moon Countdown

00
Days
00
Hours
00
Min
00
Secs
The July New Moon 2024 is Now Over.

The Sturgeon New Moon will happen on Sunday, August 4, 2024

On that day, the new moon phase will start at 12:13 PM UTC / 8:13 AM EDT / 7:13 AM CDT / 5:13 AM PDT.

At this point in its lunar cycle, the moon will be 0.05 days old and will appear 0% illuminated. Its tilt will be 96.819° and its distance from Earth will be about 396,937.93 km. Astrologically, the moon will be in the sign of Leo.

Additional Info

  • Right Ascension / Declination: 05h 24m43.1s / +27°54’24.0″
  • Apparent Magnitude: -6.01
  • Apparent diameter: 32 arcminutes and 14 arcseconds.

August New Moon Countdown

00
Days
00
Hours
00
Min
00
Secs
The August New Moon 2024 is Now Over.
Tom Urbain
I’ve been fascinated by space and astronomy from a very young age. When I’m not watching space-themed documentaries, movies or TV series, I spend most of my free time in my backyard admiring the planets and galaxies with my telescope.

Wow! There's more to read 🚀

This moon-related story is part of our collection of stargazing articles. If this piece sparked your interest, you’re sure to enjoy the fascinating insights offered in our subsequent articles.