blue moon shining down a lake

When Is The Next Blue Moon? Dates & Times For The Next 5

Last Updated: June 14, 2024

The moon has always been a source of wonder and intrigue. Its phases have guided farmers, sailors, and countless civilizations throughout history. Among its many phases, there’s one phenomenon that has particularly captured our collective imagination: the Blue Moon. 

The phrase “Once in a blue moon” often alludes to something rare. But how infrequent is this celestial event, really? 

Dive into this article to discover the dates of the next five Blue Moons and get ready to circle those dates on your calendar!

Table of Contents

The Blue Moon (seasonal) will take place on Monday, August 19, 2024

On that day, the lunar disc will be completely lit at 7:26 PM UTC / 2:26 PM EST / 1:26 PM CST / 11:26 AM PST. The Moon, 14.31 days into its lunar cycle, will be 100% illuminated.

It will be tilted at 92.236° and located approximately 364,851 km (226,707 miles or 0.00243 AU) away from Earth, 2.3% away from its average perigee distance. In astrology, the Moon aligns with Aquarius.

Moongazing Info

  • Right Ascension / Declination: 22h 09m49.1s / -15°50’19.5″
  • Azimuth / Altitude: 126°27’37.1″ / +07°25’19.3″
  • Apparent Magnitude: -12.78
  • Apparent diameter: 29 arcminutes and 47 arcseconds.
  • Conjunctions? No but close approach with Saturn

Blue Moon 2024 Countdown

00
Days
00
Hours
00
Min
00
Secs
The Blue Moon 2024 is Now Over.
blue moon location 19 august 2024

The Blue Moon will take place on Sunday, May 31, 2026

On that day, the moon will achieve fullness at 9:45 AM UTC / 4:45 AM EST / 3:45 AM CST / 1:45 AM PST. The Moon will be 14.27 days old and tilted at an angle of 95.84 degrees. It will be positioned approximately 405,754 kilometers (or 252,123 miles, equivalent to 0.00271 astronomical units) away from Earth. 

This places it 12.9% away from its average closest approach, also known as perigee. In the realm of astrology, the Moon finds its alignment with the sign of Sagittarius.

Moongazing Info

  • Right Ascension / Declination: 17h 06m25.4s / -28°36’16.6″
  • Azimuth / Altitude: 194°18’14.6″ / +09°18’25.2″
  • Apparent Magnitude: -12.56
  • Apparent diameter: 29 arcminutes and 17 arcseconds.
  • Conjunctions? None

Blue Moon 2026 Countdown

00
Days
00
Hours
00
Min
00
Secs
The Blue Moon 2026 is Now Over.
blue moon location may 31 2026

The Blue Moon (seasonal) will take place on Thursday, May 20, 2027

The moon will be fully illuminated on that day at 7:00 AM UTC / 3:00 AM EST / 2:00 AM CST / 12:00 AM PST. Around 13.57 days into its lunar cycle, the Moon will position itself at a tilt of approximately 107.956 degrees. 

It will be situated nearly 391,861 km (which is roughly equivalent to 243,491 miles or 0.00261 Astronomical Units) away from Earth. This places it about 9.45% further than its closest point to Earth, known as its perigee. In terms of astrology, the Moon will align itself with the constellation of Scorpio.

Moongazing Info

  • Right Ascension / Declination: 16h 14m25.2s / -26°51’40.4″
  • Azimuth / Altitude: 183°13’33.2″ / +12°13’54.0″
  • Apparent Magnitude: -12.62
  • Apparent diameter: 29 arcminutes and 45 arcseconds.
  • Conjunctions? Yes – Antares.

Blue Moon 2027 Countdown

00
Days
00
Hours
00
Min
00
Secs
The Blue Moon 2027 is Now Over.
blue moon location may 20 2027

The Blue Moon will take place on Sunday, December 31, 2028

The moon will transition into its full phase at 4:48 PM UTC / 11:48 AM EST / 10:48 AM CST / 8:48 AM PST on that day. Approximately 14.66 days into its lunar cycle, the Moon is poised at an estimated tilt of 134.736 degrees. 

Situated at a distance of approximately 381,121 km from Earth, which equates to about 236,817 miles or 0.00254 Astronomical Units, it finds itself 6.7% further than its perigee, the closest point in its orbit around Earth. Astrologically, it aligns with the constellation Gemini.

Moongazing Info

  • Right Ascension / Declination: 06h 07m24.0s / +24°03’04.7″
  • Azimuth / Altitude: 234°40’00.4″ / +53°32’25.1″
  • Apparent Magnitude: -12.69
  • Apparent diameter: 29 arcminutes and 34 arcseconds.
  • Conjunctions? None but Uranus and Betelgeuse are nearby

Blue Moon 2028 Countdown

00
Days
00
Hours
00
Min
00
Secs
The Blue Moon 2028 is Now Over.

The Blue Moon will take place on Thursday, August 23, 2029

On that day, expect to see the moon at its fullest at 1:51 AM UTC (next day) / 9:51 PM EDT / 8:51 PM CDT / 6:51 PM PDT. Approximately 13.05 days into its lunar cycle, the Moon is poised at an estimated tilt of 166.18 degrees. 

Situated at a distance of approximately 390,468 km from Earth, which equates to about 242,625 miles or 0.00261 Astronomical Units, it finds itself 9.09% further than its perigee, the closest point in its orbit around Earth. Astrologically, it aligns with the constellation Aquarius.

Moongazing Info

  • Right Ascension / Declination: 21h 15m59.1s  / -12°53’21.6″
  • Azimuth / Altitude: 203°23’17.0″ / +23°25’02.1″
  • Apparent Magnitude: -12.60
  • Apparent diameter: 30 arcminutes and 14 arcseconds.
  • Conjunctions? None

Blue Moon 2029 Countdown

00
Days
00
Hours
00
Min
00
Secs
The Blue Moon 2029 is Now Over.
blue moon location 23 august 2029
Tom Urbain
I’ve been fascinated by space and astronomy from a very young age. When I’m not watching space-themed documentaries, movies or TV series, I spend most of my free time in my backyard admiring the planets and galaxies with my telescope.

Wow! There's more to read 🚀

This moon-related story is part of our collection of stargazing articles. If this piece sparked your interest, you’re sure to enjoy the fascinating insights offered in our subsequent articles.